Gramper


One of my great-grandfathers was sent to the U.S. when he was a little boy back in the later 1800’s, I think to live with a relative if I am not mistaken.  He was Swedish.  I guess his mom thought he would have a better life growing up in the States.  He eventually created a unique metal spinning process and the company he launched is still in business today even though he passed in the early 70’s.

We were taught to call him Gramper.  I’ve never heard or read that word anywhere else since until I looked it up just now.  It’s very interesting that one use of the word has to do with certain types of dolphins.  🙂

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

