Red-tail Hawk Nest


This livestream is at the Cornell Lab, Ithaca, NY, on top of a light pole; plus the nest is visible all night because of the light. I watched her for a while last night. Even wildlife has no privacy anymore with all of the mass surveillance going on!! The chickies started hatching two days ago. Red-tails are common in my parts and I’ve noticed over the years they are more tolerant of humans than they used to be.

Coolness!! It’s windy on top of that light pole!

http://www.wired.com/2014/04/red-tailed-hawk-nest-cam/

There are links to cams set-up at other kinds of bird nests.

Two years ago, since the acorn crop crashed here because of the moronic, cement-like snow storm we had in the Northeast at the end of October 2011 which mutilated untold numbers of oak trees, the fall/winter squirrel population crashed as well. Red-tails depend on squirrels for food. There was a pair of red-tails which waited for me just down the street near my bird feeding station in the afternoon, high up in the trees, hoping to catch the few squirrels which also waited for me to put my delicious feed mix out for the birds. Put out some quality, mixed food for the birds and one can attract a whole ecosystem. You should have seen my various yards years back.

I don’t remember who said this (a biologist perhaps) but anything that is abundant is critical to the system — such as oaks, squirrels, chipmunks, red-tails.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red-tail Hawk Nest

  1. pollyann says:

    I’ve had a lot of fun watching these red-tails on and off so far!

  2. pollyann says:

    They are addicting!! Lol!! A starling just showed up on the railing above the red-tail’s nest and was having a few words about the whole situation (I know the starling distress call and could hear it on my speaker) before hopping to the other side of the enclosure and out the opening. I wonder if the starling is nesting up there, too, because small birds will sometimes nest close to predator bird nests for protection. Starlings love to nest in openings and crevices in man-made structures such as light poles. I called my mate and he and his friend were watching it, too, over there. Lol!

  3. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,
    Very cool!! 🙂
    I had no idea that there were so many live cams out there! I’ve spent the last 3 hours or so watching live cams of birds and other animals. Love it!!
    I’m going to post a few hummingbird ones.

  4. pollyann says:

    I saw her feeding them a chipmunk yesterday, late afternoon. It looks like there are going to be piles of small carcasses ringing the nest by the time the chicks fledge.

  5. pollyann says:

    I can’t tell what kind of creature the adult (Big Red) is feeding the chicks right now. Rabbit?

Leave a Reply

