Dad


It would take a book to describe what happened only during last month with my dad. I had to make an emergency trip to Ohio on Dec. 16th because he had gone into hospice on Dec. 13th and would have to be out five days later. He wanted to pass at home, a 6′ 3″ invalid who used to weigh 185 and more pounds before illness began to waste his body in the last few years. I was there alone with him most of the time and with the help of neighbors, friends, cousins, other family, hospice workers, a Visiting Angel and a whole lot of major spiritual help he passed at home during the early morning hours of Christmas Day, not long after 2 AM which was the last time I checked on him before 9:20 AM. It was his Christmas gift to himself as a neighbor aptly put it. No more suffering in the physical. The hospice nurse told me later that he passed on his own terms and I say that is a fact. He was determined not to linger no matter what anyone said about the dying process and how long it would take, and so it was. I worked with him to honor his wishes and we did it!! There was nothing nice or pretty about this dying process, and I often felt I was in over my head, but once he was gone I felt relieved and happy for him.

One of my lovely and valuable cousins printed this out for me while I was with my dad and reading it helped my perspective greatly:

http://kokuamau.org/resources/last-stages-life

This entry was posted in Death. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Dad

  1. pac says:

    How’s it going, Dad?

  2. pollyann says:

    Sheesh, Dad!! On the 25th it will be one year since your passing! It’s been a huge adjustment, to say the least. My beloved cousin, the grave site caretaker, is going to visit your grave on Christmas and text me a picture. I’ve had a few chickadees land very close to me since your passing. Remember what you said!

    A family scattered in life, stays scattered after death in this case. Your grave is in Ohio. Mom’s ashes were scattered by the lake in eastern NY. My oldest sister’s ashes went down the Kinderhook Creek with seven white roses and perhaps some made it into the Hudson River before they all sank. My next youngest sister’s ashes are still hidden under a chair in Texas, as far as I know right now, until the time is right to scatter them.

    I’d like my ashes to be delivered back to Orion, to the Divine Mother. 🙂

  3. pollyann says:

    Dad, today is the 8th anniversary of mom’s passing. It seems like eons ago and at the same time, only a short while ago. Do you remember you thought you might pass within a year of her (because of that saying), even though the two of you were long ago divorced? Mom’s mom passed on this day as well.

  4. pollyann says:

    Dad, Todd called me today. He spoke very highly of you and said he was heartbroken when he found out you had passed. I told him you liked him very much as well.

  5. pollyann says:

    OMG. Dad, I just received a hand-delivered envelope. I did not know about this one!! Thank you so much!! You know I will do my best with it!! Grace!!

  6. pollyann says:

    Hi, Dad! I hope you have gotten your bearings on the other side. Jack and I talk on the phone often.

  7. pollyann says:

    Dad, how much have you remembered about the true nature of this world since you passed over to the other side? Did the fog clouding awareness lift? Do you see?

  8. pollyann says:

    Dad, I’m glad I took two of the framed family crests — the one done on linen and the small one done in Florida. I have them on my walls and I see them many times a day. They are comforting to look at.

  9. pollyann says:

    Grace. Let me be a pure channel for grace. That would be a good name for a radio show, YouTube channel or a blog — The Grace Channel, but it has to channel grace into whatever it is about.

  10. pollyann says:

    She lives in a senior place and loves it. She and her girlfriend are known as the pool sharks because they love to play pool. Lol! Oh, that creature looks interesting.

  11. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,
    That’s where Ogopogo lives! LOL!
    Kelowna is a Very popular town to retire in. It has pleasant weather so the other thing it’s known for, big time, is tourism. It is a little cooler and wetter than here where we live.
    Ogopogo http://sunnyokanagan.com/ogopogo/ If you are interested there are more pictures in Google images.

  12. pollyann says:

    Salty, my dad’s friend lives in Kelowna, BC. They used to be neighbors in Florida. She is originally from England. A lovely woman, very active, lives in a great place and is 90.

  13. pollyann says:

    Dad, Winn misses you very much. I received a card from her yesterday.

  14. pollyann says:

    Many years ago, because of the major bird and wildlife feeding operation I had going on for years and years but no more, my dad said to me one day he wanted to come back as a bird since he knew he would be well fed. I think he said a chickadee or maybe that’s not correct. At any rate, I expect to have a significant bird experience one day which will tell me he is behind it.

  15. pollyann says:

    Dad!! My cousins and I are trying to find out where that antique pocket knife you had in the wooden box on your dresser came from. It’s a really neat old knife made in Germany; bone handle and carbon steel blades. I have it here and gave it to you know who. You saved it for some reason! We are trying to find out if it belonged to your dad. If not your dad’s, then perhaps one of your brothers’?

  16. Salty says:

    Thank You Polly! I mean it!!
    My eyes welled up when I read that.
    Peace, Grace, and blessings on you Polly.

  17. pollyann says:

    Grace. One of my foci this year is Grace. May Grace enter your life, Salty.

Leave a Reply

