Traits of a Psychopath


What follows are up-close observations made about someone related to me which is why this subject interests me on a personal level. All of these traits fit the descriptions given about psychopaths by various people/sources who have studied these individuals.

Observations:

No empathy for others, everything is about SELF
No guilt, shame or embarrassment about self; no self-consciousness or self-reflection
Extremely manipulative — what can they get from others is the basic motivation for interacting with others
Never takes responsibility for self or decisions made — it’s always someone else’s fault
Expert liar, if caught will create another lie
Very charming, engaging on the surface
Can sense others’ (even strangers’) vulnerabilities and sensitivities for possible exploitation
Easily takes risks, impulsive; does not consider repercussions
Quick personality changes to fit situation and other people
Questionable morals, or lack of

Note: Sometimes people throw the term psychopath around without really understanding what it means. Someone who is a psychopath has to fit the criteria and the anomalies which show up in a brain scan will verify it. Also, very few psychopaths become killers. This man was on Coast to Coast AM a while ago talking about psychopaths:

http://gma.yahoo.com/scientist-related-killers-learns-psychopaths-brain-125127313–abc-news-health.html

This entry was posted in Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Traits of a Psychopath

  1. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,
    I noticed that after I post something I get spam for that subject. That happens a lot.

  2. pollyann says:

    I had not signed into my Twitter account for a very long time until today. After I did I received an email from Twitter welcoming me back and with some suggestions. (Thanks, but no thanks. :-)) The email included three people’s Twitter pages I might like to follow. Lo and behold, one page link belongs to a guy who just finished his 2nd book about psychopathy. Imagine that! It goes to show another example of how everything one does on the Internet is being catalogued and matched up.

  3. Salty says:

    I remember Polly. I’m pretty sure I know who you are referring to.

  4. pollyann says:

    I had to do the same thing. It was a tragedy. The person had no clue of the damage she caused and said I was being mean, abusive, uncaring and cruel to have cut all contact as a last resort. This was to elicit sympathy and compassion from other people.

  5. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,
    Having to deal with a psychopath is a woeful, terrible situation to be in!!!
    There comes a time when one has to once and for all say this person is not going to change, ever, they can’t change and then one has make harsh decisions.
    I removed that person from my life and refuse to have any contact whatsoever with that person.
    There is a hole in my heart now, but I know of No Other Way. I tried everything I could think of for years, decades.
    😥

  6. pollyann says:

    Amazing, isn’t it, to witness this condition “so close to home?” To try to interact with a person like this is extremely upsetting and disturbing. It was for me anyway and that is only the surface of it. There has been discussion about the brains of these people having a lesion-like area in, I think, the orbital cortex. This person, as an infant, mysteriously fell off of a double bed after being placed in the middle of it, was not able to crawl or roll yet, and hit her head pretty hard.

  7. Salty says:

    Polly, that also is a perfect description of someone related to me too.

Leave a Reply

