Two X-Class Solar Flares (Plus Two More)


They occurred close together — May 12-13, 2013, depending on the time zone.  An X1.7 and an X2.4.  They are not earth directed but these are significant events.  More may follow as the area of activity on the sun moves into view from our perspective.  Sunspot AR1738.  The Astronomy world is abuzz.

http://www.thesuntoday.org/current-observations/first-x-flare-of-2013/

http://www.thesuntoday.org/current-observations/the-2nd-x-flare-for-2013/

9:30 PM EST — Oops!!  A third X-class flare just occurred!!  An X3.2.  The proton flux and density is beginning to rise and the electron flux is starting to dip.  😦

This entry was posted in Astronomy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Two X-Class Solar Flares (Plus Two More)

  1. pollyann says:

    Salty, I feel better today than yesterday. I had a rough night which is not unusual for me no matter what the sun is doing!! I figured you were down for the count yesterday because you were not posting much on your blog. I’m glad you feel better. That’s always a relief!!

  2. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,

    How are you feeling today?

    So far today I’m feeling not too bad. Yesterday was BAD! I was utterly exhausted and could hardly keep my eyes open.
    The proton event is still going on but it’s not bothering me as much so far today, at least not like yesterday. If that’s what the problem was with me yesterday.

  3. pollyann says:

    On a regular basis it seems like things are coming together and building into something big!! I hate it!! It’s as if we are in a pot that is just about to boil over yet it never really does!! How can anyone stay sane?? LOL!!
    There is weird energy in the skies; I know what you mean!! I’ve never seen a roll cloud but they are as bizarre as all heck!!

  4. pollyann says:

    Salty, there is stuff I want to say but I’m feeling over tired and apathetic right now. Proton drag. Thanks for the update!!

  5. Salty says:

    I’m Not fretting about it but everything seems to be coming together and building into something big.
    EQ swarms, volcano’s, and over the top weather.
    UFO reports on MSM! That’s unusual.

    There have been ‘different’ looking skies looking here, the clouds and odd colored sunsets, Some sunsets very beautiful but odd colors and eerie.
    We seen a roll cloud a few days ago. That’s the first time I’ve seen one of those here.

    The clouds are sometimes ‘different’ but I don’t know how to define what I mean by that.

  6. pollyann says:

    Salty, With the last X-flare last night I felt very irritable but I’m doing pretty good so far compared to other times of heavy solar activity.

  7. Salty says:

    Yikes! There is a proton event going on 😦 That almost always causes headaches etc, etc for me, and you too I think,
    I’m not experiencing too much right now, just a wee bit of pressure but we’ll see how it goes as the day progresses.

  8. pollyann says:

    Another X-flare!! It looks like an X1.0 or X1.1 at this moment.

  9. pollyann says:

    I woke up at about 3:30 AM with a dull headache in the back of my head. The proton density is still going up.

  10. pollyann says:

    We have to stare down the sun so it doesn’t misbehave too much!! LOL!!

  11. Salty says:

    Good thing I went to my email or I would not have seen your comment.

    I’ve busy trying to catch up on all the things I’ve been putting off until I feel better but I’m still not much better.

    Martijn gave a link to an Excellent video that is about 2 hrs long so I intended to watch a little bit at a time but once I started I couldn’t stop! It’s the best video I’ve ever seen on that subject so I posted it.

    Those flares are getting bigger! 😦 I hope it’s not Earth facing and that it is the last one.

    Thanks again Polly for the heads up 🙂

  12. pollyann says:

    I’ll bet tons of people have been watching this activity, amateur and professional alike.

  13. pollyann says:

    The third might be glancing but the sun spot is not earth-facing yet. I did not feel the first two. I did slightly feel the proton flux start to rise and electron flux start to dip with the third.

  14. Salty says:

    Holy sh*t, 3 X flares!! Is this last one Earth directed?

  15. Salty says:

    Polly,
    No, I’ve been too busy, thanks for asking and bringing that to my attention!!
    More in a few minutes..

  16. pollyann says:

    Salty, are you watching??

Leave a Reply

