Do You Like Beets??


I do.  I love the taste of them.

http://wakeup-world.com/2013/03/04/could-beet-juice-be-the-answer-to-increasing-your-endurance/

This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do You Like Beets??

  1. pollyann says:

    Let us know how it comes out, Sily!!

  2. Salty says:

    You won’t be disappointed Sily!

  3. sily says:

    That soup recipe looks really, really good. I shall try it!

  4. pollyann says:

    That’s fascinating, Salty. Thanks for doing that. I can just see me in a restaurant quizzing the cook on how he or she made the soup!! LOL!!

  5. Salty says:

    To me true Russian Borscht is how my Dad insisted it be made and he was Russian.
    1, Only use beet root. No tops. Ever.

    2, It must be made with ‘real’ old fashioned soup bones, and except for one time 5 or 6 years ago I haven’t seen one of those in the store for 20 years or more.
    The bones needs to have lots of marrow in them, and have some meat on them. Unless you ask a butcher for these even if you find bones in the store they probably won’t have any meat left on them, but if you were lucky enough to find an old fashioned soup bone you could use that and add a bit stew meat. Not too much though. It won’t be exactly the same but it’s passable. My Dad would cringe, but I’ve done it before.

    3, The only other vegetable is a small diced onion.

    4, Grate the beets. The texture of the beets is important so they must be hand grated. I use a box grater.

    5, The secret ingredient is lemon juice. If you don’t use it the color comes out of the beets and they turn gray.
    It has to be fresh lemon juice. NEVER vinegar.

    6, Salt and pepper.

    After the bones, and meat if you need to add it, and onion slowly boil for about 1 1/2 hr let it cool until the fat on the top is hard then remove most of it, but it’s important to leave some fat. It just doesn’t taste right if all fat is removed.

    Then bring the broth to a boil and add the beets and quickly add lemon juice. You only want enough lemon juice to stop the color from coming out of the beets. There should be no lemon or sour flavor to the soup.

    Add salt and pepper and cook until the beets are done. Serve with a dollop of sour cream. I like it without sour cream most of the time.

    It is really easy to make.

    There are a zillion recipes out there that say their version is the real true Russian Borscht but this is the one I grew up with and to me while some of other ones taste okay they just aren’t true Russian Borscht to me,

  6. pollyann says:

    Salty, what makes Russian Borscht soup ‘true’ or ‘not true’ in your guideline so I know if I ever have the opportunity to eat some.

  7. sily says:

    Haha.. yes about the urine. I like them pickled also but to bake them, rub them with oil, cover the dish with foil, bake at 350 for about 1 hour. Baking them makes them taste stronger. Some people boil them. I always heard beets can help make a person’s blood stronger.

  8. Salty says:

    If you like beets and soup you’re missing out on a real treat!
    It turns pee red though. LOL

  9. pollyann says:

    I’ve never had that, Salty.

  10. Salty says:

    I like beets too, especially ‘True’ Russian Borscht soup. YUM!!
    But only if it’s made properly.

  11. pollyann says:

    How do you bake them, Sily?? I’ve never had them baked.

  12. sily says:

    I love baked beets. The thing is, I never have plastic gloves when I’m peeling them and my hands get red. Now I’m in the mood for some good beets.

Leave a Reply

