New Sunset


This is a first for me.  I was outside a few minutes ago and the sun is setting in the west with some orange and pink color associated with it.  There’s nothing unusual about that.  The whole horizon, a complete 360 degree circle, which I can see from here, is ringed by a large, pink band of color.  This is more evidence of how much reflective particulate is in the atmosphere.

This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Sunset

  1. Salty says:

    Yep, they are called properly called noctilucent, some call them luminescent.
    I’ve seen sun dogs many times. Here are some pictures http://tiny.cc/nr1rsw

  2. pollyann says:

    I know. I wasn’t referring to any clouds being luminescent, just the moon appearing that way. Hey, I remember you seeing those particular clouds in the sky that time and describing them. Aren’t they called noctilucent?? I’ve seen the clouds with rainbow colors, too. Have you seen any of what Sily mentioned which are called sundogs??

  3. Salty says:

    Hi Polly, above what I was referring to that I see in the clouds sometimes isn’t luminescent, as in “luminescent Clouds”.
    But you are right luminescent Clouds, they used to be rare, and farther north, but not anymore. I still vividly remember my experience seeing the sky filled with luminescent Clouds. I’ll never forget it.
    I keep meaning to post about that on my blog and will as soon as I find time.

  4. pollyann says:

    I would say so, Salty. Now that the moon looks like it was painted with white Indiglow years ago and is noticeably more bright appearing, and now luminescent, even when it’s at quarter phase, it’s another piece of evidence that our atmosphere is full of reflective particulate.

  5. saltyme says:

    Maybe it’s reflective particulate that is causing the colorful clouds I see some nights when the clouds are near the moon. Rainbow colours.

  6. sily says:

    Ah… on a similar note — I love seeing sun dogs, but around here, they are very rare. I’ve seen two sun dogs in the last two weeks, which is a lot.

Leave a Reply

