Tornado Crossing Connecticut River in Springfield, MA — Premium Video


This is excellent and scary video of one of the tornados touching down in my area yesterday.  Note: So much for the video, it was removed from YouTube.

This entry was posted in Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tornado Crossing Connecticut River in Springfield, MA — Premium Video

  1. pollyann says:

    I also found this image taken by the GOES-East satellite at 4:15 PM that day:

    http://www.nnvl.noaa.gov/MediaDetail.php?MediaID=746&MediaTypeID=1

  2. pollyann says:

    I asked NASA’s Earth Observatory people via email if they had captured any images of the tornadoes in western MA. They posted this on June 6th.

    http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/view.php?id=50854

  3. pollyann says:

    Hi Sily, at first I thought it was you, then I wasn’t sure. Thanks for commenting! It is very cool, dry and windy today after being 90 degrees, humid and windy yesterday.

  4. pollyann says:

    Another tornado touched down just a few miles from where I am. We occasionally have tornadoes in this area of Western MA but never this extensive! We don’t even have a tornado alarm in my small town. I was keeping watch on the radar as well as going outside to watch the sky. There were some freaky clouds and a yellowish cast but not like what others must have seen who were closer to the tornadoes. I saw that zapping phenomena yesterday on the highway out in Indiana on Intellicast’s website. Thanks for the info about the militia. I knew the National Guard had been called out to help, as well as state troopers.

    No one, that I know of, is reporting about the vehicles being sucked up in the tornado over and next to the Connecticut River. There has to be, unfortuantely, more than the four deceased people being reported in the news.

  5. Sily says:

    Polly, that comment is from me. I forgot to login.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I just shuddered when getting ready to write this. Did your sky turn yellow/greenish? I know tornadoes in your area are not unheard of but rare, I would think. Just yesterday your state’s State defense Force was reactivated. HAARP was zapping the highway @ Battleground, IN yesterday creating storms out of thin air. So glad you are still safe!

    “WORCESTER — The state’s militia was reactivated yesterday to provide emergency support in the event of natural and other disasters and to augment the work of the Massachusetts National Guard, which has been spread thin over the past few years because of deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan.”

Leave a Reply

