The Katydids Are Early!


Last year I was bemoaning the fact in this weblog that the katydids hadn’t commenced their yearly, nighttime, mating symphony which begins here at the very end of July or the 1st of August.  I love the sound of them.  They must have known because I began hearing them soon after writing about it.  This year they are two weeks EARLY! 

I first heard them the night of the 17th this month and I am outside every night for one reason or another; sometimes just wandering around the yard hoping I don’t run into a skunk!  I couldn’t believe my ears.  It must be (or I assume it to be) because of the tropical moisture and heat being pushed up north this summer.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Katydids Are Early!

  1. pac says:

    The katydids are on time this year!! July 31st!

  2. sily says:

    I shall start to listen for them also, I’ve been inside at night and not noticed. I was outside yesterday and did not notice them but that was during the day. Yes, they are very soothing! Good to take a nap to when the windows are open.

  3. pollyann says:

    This old post sounds very current and I would have done the same thing if I had not known it was older. 🙂

  4. Salty says:

    Hi Polly,
    LOL!! No wonder it didn’t show up! Silly me! 😳 I should have looked at the date but I never even thought of that.

  5. pollyann says:

    It’s an old post from 2010. Someone had accessed it via a search engine which showed up in my Dashboard info so I decided to add a comment to it.

  6. Salty says:

    You know what Polly? The Katydids Are Early! post does not show up on your home page or in my WP reader.

  7. Salty says:

    Maybe you could find the cricket you like here. Scroll down to the 3rd from the bottom for Bumblebee sound.
    We still haven’t seen any bumbles this year! 😦
    http://www.naturesongs.com/insects.html

  8. pollyann says:

    I’ve got the wrong cricket. It’s not the snowy cricket. Thanks for the video. Now I know I have the wrong creature for the sound I like. I first remember hearing it back in the mid-90’s and never forgot it. I can still hear it in my mind to this day.

  9. Salty says:

    Snowy cricket. Very interesting! You can estimate the temperature by their chirp rate. 😎
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1MwKxUAYu0)

  10. pollyann says:

    I LOVE the sound of masses of katydids calling at night. I find the sound they collectively make to be very soothing. It’s like a native earth beat. LOL!! That’s them in the first video but it doesn’t do their sound justice. I find many cricket sounds to be annoying, especially the high-pitched chirp sound, except for what I think is called a snow cricket here. I love the sound they make. It’s very unusual.

  11. Salty says:

    Since we moved to this part of town about 13 yrs ago we rarely ever hear, or see a cricket.
    Polly, is this the sound you are referring to?
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Q7cx8i4lUk)
    I’ve never heard those ones so I don’t think we have them here.
    We have these ones. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQFEY9RIRJA)
    Even one of them singing at night makes it hard to sleep but when there are a bunch of them making that sound it’s impossible! But still, I miss hearing them (in the daytime) once in a while.

    Fireflies!! They are interesting little critters! I’ve always wanted to see them but I don’t think we have them in B. C.

  12. pollyann says:

    They are about two weeks early this year, too. It may have been the ultra-high humidity and extended 90+ degree heat for weeks and weeks.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Sily, I noticed more lightning bugs this year but earlier in the summer.

  14. Sily says:

    year = yard. I should proofread… lol.

  15. Sily says:

    Haha… that’s great! On the 4th of July husband was setting off fireworks in the yard and I was sitting on the front step. I noticed lightning bugs all around the year and was thrilled. They remind me of summer nights as a kid. I haven’t seen them much in the last few years. I hope you enjoy the katydids and their early arrival.

Leave a Reply

