Strong Solar Storm 4-5-2010


Wow, I sure was zapped by this solar storm last night!  Good grief!  We have not had one like this in quite a while.  The following excerpt is taken from an email alert from www.spaceweather.com.  Check archives for that page.  I wonder if that is what a nuclear blast feels like in some respects.

GEOMAGNETIC STORM: A sharp gust of solar wind hit Earth’s magnetosphere today, April 5th, at approximately 0800 UT and sparked the strongest geomagnetic storm of the year. The event registered 7 on the 0-to-9 Kindex scale of magnetic disturbances. Although the storm is subsiding now, it is not over; high-latitude sky watchers should remain alert for auroras.

This entry was posted in Astronomy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Strong Solar Storm 4-5-2010

  1. Sily says:

    That link was very telling, that’s for sure. I’ll be so glad when the weekend gets here.

  2. pollyann says:

    I wish I knew for sure if this particular solar storm was techologically enhanced by extra ELF or ULF waves.

  3. pollyann says:

    The impact of this solar event weakened my defenses against certain kinds of energies; undesirable energies.

  4. Sily says:

    Yikes! Count me in too! As a matter of fact, I left work yesterday at 12 noon and went home to bed! I kept saying to my husband… I don’t feel right, I don’t feel good, I’m so tried. I must have said that 40 times. He even said it about himself and that he had taken more naps yesterday. I’ll have to tell him about the solar storm when I get home.

    I thought it was that Sunday I didn’t get home till late, from Easter dinner at parents house, didn’t get to bed till late and got up at 5am to go to work. I guess it could have been just sleepiness, but yesterday was awful in terms of *the physical*. If it was a solar storm that effected me, now I know I hope that never comes like that again.

Leave a Reply

