The Katydids Are Missing!


Gasp!!  The katydids did not commence their tribal-like, riveting and intruiging sound this year!  I am freaked!  I always look forward to listening to them every summer.  They begin at the very end of July or the first day of August in the evening and I have not heard them where I live.  This is really quite disturbing to me.

What has caused this disappearance?  I must find out.  It’s bad enough that the dawn chorus of birds has dwindled as much as it has over the years but now the katydids are silent for the first time that I can remember in the last 20+ years.

Gasp!!

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Katydids Are Missing!

  1. pollyann says:

    Sily, it really freaked me out when the katydids didn’t start their yearly chorus on time. I was relieved when they finally did. Jeez.

    It’s been miserable here, too. We had some good rain from thunderstorms yesterday afternoon and before dawn this morning, an inch in total, but the dew point is still in the unbearable range today. We are caught between a Bermuda High and a cold front which brings up the southern moisture. Yeck! I would love to go to the coast and watch the waves.

    That frog at your husband’s work place was trying to bring balance to the place. Say, thank you! 🙂

  2. Sily says:

    I’m so glad the katydids showed up.

    I have more frog updates – there was a frog inside my husband’s work place this week. They put it back outside.

    It is currently hotter than Hades here in Eden, MD. We have been getting a few thunderstorms from hurricane Bill. I do know the surf in Ocean City is really kicking up.

    I hope your day is going well!

  3. pollyann says:

    Holy Smoke!!! I just put my head out of the window to see if I could hear the katydids and they are at it!! Wow, are they ever late this year.

  4. pollyann says:

    You, too, huh? So it’s not just a local thing with me. I am in Western MA. It sounds so deathly quiet at night w/o them except for a few crickets and cicadas now and then.

  5. josie says:

    Hi: I have noticed the same thing here. By the way, here is northeast Pennsylvania. Where are you located? I am hoping that they are still going to start, but that the odd summer weather has disrupted their normal patterns. Waiting for them.

Leave a Reply

