My Intuition Caught a Bear


I just had a fairly close encounter with a bear at about 9 PM.  My intuition told me there was a bear outside and my intuition did not fail me.  I had a thought to go out on the porch and close the gate in case a bear decided to come up on the porch to grab the hummingbird feeder hanging from the gutter and there he was, walking across the lawn near the porch. 

I thought he was headed for the compost pit up in the back of the garden but he circled around the garage and came back.  He was only about 10 feet away when he appeared again.  I tried to shoo him off and though he hesitated, he decided I was not worth worrying about and walked to the front of the porch where there is a small, open sunflower seed feeder hanging from a pole.

At that point I came inside and watched from the door as he took down the pole and feeder.  After polishing off that tiny snack, he must have headed across the street to our neighbor’s yard because I found out later there were three in their yard.

I have considered the possibility that the second time I saw the bear that night it was not the same one.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Intuition Caught a Bear

  1. pollyann says:

    Hopefully. There is lots of dog and human scent on the fawn now, though.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Polly, This morning my dog brought me his newest “buddy”. I swear it’s like living with Lassie. I heard a sound I wasn’t familiar with and headed in the direction of woods to maybe see what it was. Then here comes my dog barreling towards me with the “Come quick and see what I found!! look. So he ran ahead while I followed.As Irounded a bend on the path he was coming towards me dragging, with a soft mouth ,a fawn. The fawn was bleating” ma ma “sounded very human like. It couldn’t have been more than a day old. My dog thought he had found a new playmate. The fawn, as young as it was, was feisty and kept headbutting my dog.lol!! I had seen the adult deer take off as I approached so I kenneled the dog and took the fawn to the back edge of woods . Hopefully the adults came to claim it.

  3. pollyann says:

    Hehe. Yes, Sily, I am still waiting for my moose sighting. One of these days……….

  4. Sily says:

    WOW! Polly…. just wow!

    I wish it had been a moose instead.

Leave a Reply

