Free As A Bird


I just freed a wild bird; one of many Tree Sparrows visiting this yard for the winter from their far north nesting grounds.  I love their sweet, musical call.  It had somehow managed to become stuck underneath the wire mesh covering the fish pond and was frantically running back and forth on the rocks and ice at the edge of the pond looking for a way out when I discovered it.

Gee, that sounds a whole lot like the way I feel these days.

I yelled at it to tell it I was trying to help and then frantically started to dig the ice and snow from around one edge of the pond so I could lift the wire mesh.  Success was with me after a struggle so I stepped back to make sure the bird found the opening.  It did and paused to look at me before flying off toward some nearby trees.

Good luck, little one!

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

