Belladonna


I had a dose of belladonna, or deadly nightshade, a few days ago.  I had gloves on while I was cutting this plant which grows under a spruce tree in the yard but I did touch my gloves when I took them off.  I didn’t cut it before because I know the birds like the berries.  I’m glad I didn’t try to pull the roots up. 

I could feel the reaction in my hands as a pins and needles sort of feeling and it then traveled up my arms to my neck and face.  I was very flushed and rashy for a while but did not feel any illness.  I developed three small welts or blisters on my hand and arms which have been a bit itchy.  I guess I am going to live another day!

This entry was posted in Garden Views. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

