Butterfly Snuck Out the Back Door!


Ha! I was fooled by that butterfly I wrote about earlier!  It did emerge from the chrysalis at some point and we missed it.  The back side of the chrysalis is wide open and I did not notice it until yesterday when I went to examine it more closely and remove it so I could study it better.  I left it for my buddy to see when he returns.  😀

The many seed pods on the butterfly weed are beginning to crack open and the seeds attached to their fluffy white parachutes to disperse with the wind.  I will save some and let the others blow.  This is the kind of milkweed (swamp milkweed) the Monarch butterfly needs to lay her eggs on, not the other kind of milkweed around here which is so common.

This entry was posted in Garden Views, Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

