Waiting for the Butterfly to Emerge


We had five monarch caterpillars on the butterfly weed.  Yesterday the smallest of the five formed a chrysalis.  It only took a few hours but over 24 hours earlier the caterpillar had positioned itself into a J hook shape while suspended from a short thread attached to the underside of a leaf.  I read it takes about 10 days for the butterfly to emerge.  We have hunted and hunted for the other four caterpillars or chrysalises to no avail. 

It is so amazing how a caterpillar transforms itself.

This entry was posted in Garden Views, Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting for the Butterfly to Emerge

  1. pollyann says:

    Mary, we did not find them and I am still looking. The only thing I can imagine is that a bird picked them off before they could form the chrysalises or chrysalides. The birds watch us closely when we are out in the yard and we have spent a lot of time scrutinizing the butterfly weed.

  2. pollyann says:

    Thanks for the compliment, Sue. You made a good analogy between butterflies and humans. I like how you compare the government to the immune system. 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Polly, Did you ever find the other four chrysalisae 🙂 ?
    I’ve been watching the butterflies around the milk thistle.They love that stuff!!

  4. suehawks says:

    I like your blog. I am so interested in the metamorphosis process of butterflies and how it relates to us as a species. I believe we are experiencing a metamorphosis ourselves (perhaps it is rather the whole planet and we are mere cells on her body). Currently our immune system which shows up as our governments are identifying our change as a threat and so we have a world in turmoil and chaos and fear. Just like the immune system of the changing caterpillar.
    I also am intrigued by astrology. I have recently been hugely influenced by Venus in retrograde but I was aware of her pull so I stayed cool during. I’m so glad to have found you! I’ll be looking you over from now on! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

