Insect Battle


I was on a ladder snipping the spent flower clusters on the top branches of a butterfly bush last evening before dusk.  I waited until evening because most of the bees have departed for the night and I didn’t want to be stung if I could help it.  A lone hummingbird moth joined me for a while and then a bald-faced hornet.  I give bald-faced hornets a wide berth because they can be very unpredictable and really ornery.

The next thing I knew, I heard a loud buzzing and looked to see the hummingbird moth and the bald-faced hornet locked in battle on the ground.  I told you those bald-faced hornets can be ornery!  Then they parted.  The hornet went back to feeding on nectar and I did not see what happened to the moth.  Seeing a battle between these two insects was a first for me and was kind of a surprise.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

