Weather Chit Chat


When all else fails and the feeling persists that everything has already been said a million times over and there is nothing new under the sun here on earth to write or think about, the weather is usually an endless topic of interest because it’s constantly changing and we have instant access to weather reports from all over the world.  Snow in Africa, floods in Wales and Britain, floods in Chicago and Texas and the coldest day in June somewhere in Australia are some of today’s headlines.  I wonder how my Wales friend is faring. 

The outside thermometer reads 95 degrees but I just took a dip in the pool up on the hill and that felt very nice.  I will likely return later when the heat really feels oppressive in the late afternoon and early evening if we don’t have any thunderstorms by then.  Some clouds are building up but we shall see.  A downpour would be nice for the gardens and lawns.

Here is a look at water vapor over Northern and Central America.  You can see the intensity of power which was unleashed over Texas in the current loop of 6-27.  ( Note:  link no longer leads to 6-27-07 loop.):

http://www.weather.unisys.com/satellite/sat_wv_hem_loop-12.html

This entry was posted in Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weather Chit Chat

  1. pollyann says:

    It appears the wireless router has mysteriously been made unusable. It happened right after I posted this dumb weather post on Wednesday. I can access the Internet today but Ms. D cannot. I am paying for a new wireless system to be installed on Monday. In the meantime I have access because the modem is connected to my PC and the modem is now working but wasn’t on Wednesday. Retrograde silliness.

  2. Anonymous says:

    So you have Internet connection problems too. I thought I was a rarity since I’m still on dial-up.
    Yep, that’s me in the cave.

  3. pollyann says:

    Too bad you couldn’t have directed that 3″ of rain into your valley! Most of the rain passed us by yesterday and went south of us. I missed the boat because of Internet connectivity problems here and could not track the storm clouds on my PC as I usually do.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Weather chit chat

    Speaking of up on the hill….Yesterday we were driving into town and drove”up on the hill” @ a quarter mile from the house.It began to rain very hard and later discovered it rained @ 3″ in an hour. We arrived home to realize that we had very little here in the valley.The ground was still dry!
    We did receive some rain later last night and early this mornong.Even so I was out watering in the rain this morning.

Leave a Reply

