Bluebirds Never Cease to Delight


The bluebirds were asking me to remove their old nest today so a new one can be constructed in the box with pine needles.  So I did while they watched me.  I was leery because I was hoping the nest was truly empty and I wasn’t misreading them.  I don’t know where their current fledglings are because I saw the adults going to the box with food yesterday.  I knew the time was near. 

The adults are doing their charming courtship routine again and at one point they both landed on my whale weathervane in the garden.  Now that would have made an awesome picture to post on the Internet!  While all of this was transpiring, a Red-tailed Hawk twice soared low over the garden and the bluebirds were chasing off House Sparrows who want to usurp the box.

I think last year’s young are helping to feed the new fledglings.  That is why I am seeing and hearing so much adult bluebird activity.  It took me a bit to figure out what is going on.  Please, God, help me to resist buying mealworms for the bluebirds come winter.

This entry was posted in Garden Views, Wildlife Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bluebirds Never Cease to Delight

  1. pollyann says:

    My sentiments exactly! 😀

  2. Mary says:

    Awww!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

