A Spring Walk


I enjoyed a lovely walk today out back under deep blue skies and warm, comforting sun rays.  The air was chilly though.  I need to have sunlight in my eyes!  The snow pack froze again last night and I was able to walk on top of the snow.  Crunch, crunch!  I cut diagonally across a large corn field and came across a highway of turkey tracks.  This highway comes from the woods on one side of the field and leads across the wide open expanse to a long, narrow patch of dead vegetable growth sticking above the snow.  The turkeys must find something delectable over there but I don’t recall what was planted in that patch.

There were coyote tracks, fox tracks and some tracks I could not identify.  The melting and refreezing of the snow distorted them and they looked very odd.

The little pond out back never freezes because it is spring fed.  There were a few birds there — a junco, a song sparrow, a robin and some blue jays.  The robin was picking up active insects along the pond’s edge, warmed by the sun.  I scared off the mallards on the pond when I arrived.  I didn’t mean to but off they went.  Soon there will be painted turtles sunning on the dead tree fallen into the water and other signs of spring life.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Spring Walk

  1. pollyann says:

    I am pruning and editing my blog and fixing dead links. Mary, what happened to the you who wrote things like you did above??

  2. Mary says:

    We used to see lots of wild turkey flocks(?) the first years we were here. I hadn’t seen them for a while but this winter a few wandered into the actual yard. To me that’s a good sign. We have daffodils in bloom with a few other spring bulbs… crocus etc.and some trees are in bud .

  3. pollyann says:

    Paul saw the turkeys this morning which made all of the tracks I saw. I always think of the word sweet when I see a junco. We had at least a hundred of them in the yard the day it last snowed.

  4. Mary says:

    Polly,
    This sounds sooo bucolic.:-)……..Sorry I missed Your birthday…it;s been very hectic around here.
    Aren’t juncos pretty!?

Leave a Reply

