Are Honeybees Smarter Than We Think?


There was an AP report recently on the Internet stating that domesticated honeybee colonies are dying out in large numbers across the country.  I had been discussing this scenario with others a few days ago elsewhere; the essence of the discussion was these honeybees have been compromised by harmful substances.  Here is one news report:

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/148826/honeybees_are_dying_all_over_the_united.html

Imagine my surprise last night when I read my daily dreams email from Brian’s mailing list concerning his dream about honeybees.  Here’s the dream, dream number and Brian’s description of his dream.  Brian’s website is http://www.briansprediction.com/ and is also included in my links column on the right of my weblog.

DD5100 2.14.2007 (2.13.2007 nights dreams)

feb2122.jpg   feb2123.jpg

Honeybees are being poisoned by their own honey, and they know it, so they are leaving their hives before they all die.  The poison is coming from a genetically altered plant that the bees use to make honey…also says that this same honey can hurt humans.

(Note:  Brian constructs a separate webpage at his website for each of his many thousands of posted dreams along with reader input and verifying info.  As of this moment I am not able to directly link to this particular dream but that may change soon.)

2-16-07  Ahh.  Here is the link to this particular dream:  http://www.briansprediction.com/dd/5100.htm

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Are Honeybees Smarter Than We Think?

  1. josefgraf says:

    Hi,

    A note to let you know about this article, a current issue being addressed by the Earth Vision project –

    “Why the Bees Are Dying”

    Using spiritual ecology to bring environmentalism to the next level, the EV project has several current newsworthy items.
    To access them, visit:

    Current Environmental Issues (on the Earth Vision site)

    Thanks for your attention,

    Josef Graf
    Earth Vision + Insight21
    answers for the 21st Century
    http://www.evsite.net + http://www.insight21.net

  2. pollyann says:

    So far, from what I have read, these are the common factors of Colony Collapse Disorder in case studies from the following link:

    -Migratory [my comment – meaning the colonies are moved around to pollinate crops]

    -Cumulative dead-out rate of >30%

    -Continuously “split” to increase numbers

    -Experienced “stress” two months before die-off

    http://maarec.cas.psu.edu/pressReleases/FallDwindleDisTalkAustin.pdf

    As I originally thought, beekeeping practices are key and I am not a beekeeper, just someone who has studied nature for years. I still hold to that thought until proven otherwise. It is the small, non-migratory beekeepers who will bear this out in the spring when they check their hives. If they have not suffered serious losses with the same symptoms listed at the link, that will say much about this “disorder.”

  3. pollyann says:

    There are many other kinds of bees (thousands of species) which pollinate plants in this country but don’t produce honey. It is written that settlers brought the honeybee to North America in the 17th century so the honeybee is not native. I was looking in an insect book to see if I might be able to learn the difference between a native honeybee and a European honeybee so I would know when I am outside, but there is no native honeybee! That says a lot right there! Also, I would say the pesticide industry has much to answer for.

  4. Mary says:

    I don’t know about a “Pandora’s Box” but you certainly have drawn attention which I feel is a good thing if people take it to heart. I’ve always considered honeybees and yes I was aware of our natives bees having died off. Again my grandfather told me this and stressed the importance of honeybees but also that they were fragile. Knowing the type of person he was I can’t imagine him micro-managing his hives . He didn’t have that many anyway.
    When we lived in Texas I was very concerned about the invading killer bees . To me this was a measure of how things were manifesting on a few levels. It was said that they would never cross such and such place ,but they did, then it was “Well ,they wouldn’t reach this and that place .”,but they did. It wasn’t that I was afraid of them attacking me it was the knowledge of what they could do to the existing european honeybee population.
    So you see this is a box I’ve peeked into on a regular basis for a long time. 😉

  5. pollyann says:

    Mary, I was just thinking about you and then found this. lol! In reading about honeybees and the problems beekeepers have, it seems that “colony collapse disorder,” also known by other names, goes way back — there is mention of a similar phenomena in the late 1800’s. The one thing that seems indisputable from what I can gather is that honeybee colonies are subject to various kinds of stress which will cause the affected hives to disband.

    A few minutes ago I was reading about honeybee problems in France.

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/02/21/whornets21.xml

    Also, it is written in another link I found that the honeybees in this country are virtually all European or Russian because our native specie used for making honey was killed off. The verroa mite which has plagued the European honeybees is said to have come over here on a Chinese variety which is not bothered too much by the mite though is a carrier.

    I wonder if there are any wild, native colonies because I have seen lots of honeybees in the last few years and I have not been able to find out if there any beekeepers near me. Paul says he has seen hives in hollowed out trees nearby not too long ago but who knows if they are native honeybees or not?

    I feel as though I opened a Pandora’s Box on honeybees!

  6. Mary says:

    Polly,
    As you know ,more and more farmers are finding it difficult to stay afloat financially and many have allowed ,at a price of course, cellphone towers to be constructed on their land .There are more cell towers built daily everywhere regardless of rural access . This could possibly be another factor in the honeybee decline if there is one.

  7. pollyann says:

    I did not really care for some of the bee keeping practices I read about. There must be different levels of management and how instrusive they are.

  8. Mary says:

    Yep!! :-)….. My grandfather used to keep bees …I may give it a shot and experiment a bit witha little help 😉

  9. pollyann says:

    If the hive mind life force of these honeybees is able to throw off the poisoning from the genetically altered plants by abandoning the colonies, “something” may be working in their favor.

  10. pollyann says:

    Mary, My thoughts had gone down the genetically altered food path, too, concerning the domestic honeybee colony die off. I don’t know for sure about the Morgellons connection but you may be right as are others on the subject. It seems the web of life has been infiltrated via means working in tandem. Someone sent me a link about the micro-management of domesticated honeybees which surprised me because I did not realize they were so standardly manipulated.

  11. Mary says:

    Polly,
    I was “thinking “along this line as well beforeI read Brian’s dream,especially since I feel Morgellans is connected to ,if not caused by ,GM foods.Gheez, I hope the the bees Gm food source wasn’t alfalfa.

Leave a Reply

