Alfalfa for Me!


I am experimenting again.  I always seem to find some sort of experiment to try on myself.  I started taking alfalfa leaf tablets (Medicago sativa) today as a possible long-term health rejuvenating supplement depending on how my body likes them and what differences I notice if any.  I have to be very careful in what I take because I am thin and have a fast metabolism.  I can have strong reactions to substances no matter what they are or how healthful they are reported to be for other people.

Alfalfa is a whole food which appeals much more to me than taking minerals in a more processed capsule, tablet or liquid form.  I used to drink alfalfa tea years ago and absolutely loved the taste of it.  Have you ever smelled a freshly mowed alfalfa field?  It kind of makes me want to kick up my heels and whinny!  😀  I used to take the tablets as well back then.  Now I am trying them again.

In looking at info on the Web I only see a few possible detriments from using alfalfa.  The listed possible benefits are extensive and can be found at this link.  I’ve included the cautions below.

http://www.globalherbalsupplies.com/herb_information/alfalfa.htm

Warning:  Alfalfa today may be GMO, depending on the source.

Caution:

Alfalfa in its various forms may present some health risks. Powdered Alfalfa herb, Alfalfa sprouts, and Alfalfa seeds all contain L-cavanine, a substance that may cause:

  • abnormal blood cell counts
  • spleen enlargement
  • recurrence oflupus in patients with controlled disease

Heating Alfalfa may correct this problem

Alfalfa should not be eaten by pregnant or nursing women or young children due to:

  • its ability to bring on menstruation (periods)
  • the estrogenic effects of some of Alfalfa’s components

Drug Interactions:Do not use Alfalfa without first talking to your practitioner or healthcare provider if you taking any of the following medications:

  • Warfarin (Coumadin) (the high vitamin K content in Alfalfa could make the drug less effective)
This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alfalfa for Me!

  1. pollyann says:

    One of the claims written about alfalfa is that it increases the appetite. I haven’t gained any weight but that is me. I did find myself wanting to eat more than usual for several days after starting on the tablets but that stimulation seems to have waned for now. I will let you know if I can run faster, too.

  2. Mary says:

    The reason I ask is that ,oddly, as you wrote this I had ordered alfalfa powder to put in smoothies etc. I used alafalfa tablets several years ago but was concerned it was causing me to gain weight so I stopped. It can put weight on horses.I have lost @ 20#’s and have a better grip on my health situation now so I thought I’d give it another shot.

  3. pollyann says:

    Mary, so far nothing major but am hoping they will make my body more alkaline, among a few other things. I did have some intestinal turbulence the first few days I took the tablets. Sometimes I let the tablets dissolve in my mouth and sometimes I swallow them with water. I recall reading years ago that alfalfa remineralizes the teeth. I will note any changes I detect here.

  4. Mary says:

    Hey Polly,
    How’s the Alafalfa working for you?Any observations you can share?

Leave a Reply

