Comet McNaught View


Yay!  I got to see the comet for a few minutes tonight at about 5 PM.  We were fortunate because we could see it through breaks in the rain clouds which are now clearing but banking off to the WSW.  We could see it with our eyes but it was much more clear through my Zeiss binoculars.

The tail was pretty impressive even with as much light still in the sky as there was.  Then it disappeared behind the dramatic clouds on the horizon but what a visual before it did.  Maybe tomorrow there will be another opportunity, weather permitting.

This entry was posted in Astronomy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comet McNaught View

  1. pollyann says:

    Hello, Robert, from Toronto! I’m glad you were able to see it and yes, it is very bright. The comet is causing quite a stir, in more ways than one. 🙂 Good luck to you for tomorrow!

  2. robert demchyshyn says:

    Jan 10 5:10pm local.

    Horizon obscured with clouds, but there was one break and wouldn’t you know it. The comet appeared in it for about three minutes.

    Wow, is it bright, has a great tail and seen over the lights of Toronto.

    I’m quite impressed, and I’m hoping to see it tomorrow.

  3. pollyann says:

    Hey, Mr. Gontesky! Thanks for the comment. Yes, the comet is pretty cool! I have a great place to go just up the road to scan the horizon. Aren’t people so lucky to have the photo capabilities nowadays to capture such great shots of this event? I don’t, but thanks to the Internet I can enjoy other people’s pictures. And I will be watching SOHO to see what happens when their equipment picks up the comet, hopefully in a few days. 🙂

  4. Mr. Gontesky says:

    Pretty cool sight, huh? I was fortunate enough to spot it last night and am going to try again tonight. I snapped off a few shots that you can see on my page: http://mammatus.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

