Katydids Do Wonders


One of my most favorite sounds of summer are the katydids.  They are in full force during August nights.  There is something about the collective frequency they emit with their combined harmony that I find very pleasant.  When there are hundreds of them in the trees surrounding where I am the harmonic they produce changes the magnetic field.  It’s delightful to me!

In years past when I spent a few summers at a campground on a mountain in town there were thousands of katydids in the forest calling all night and I used to stay up to listen.  It was like being at a tribal dance and I felt transported to a different reality, as if I had consumed a lot of kava kava.  Sound creates.

I tend to think my response to the katydid symphony is one of feeling more grounded on earth.

This entry was posted in Wildlife Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

