Full Halo CME March 5, 2013


Full halo CME’s are unusual.  This one exploded off of the *farside of the sun.  Perhaps I can find out how many of these have occurred in the last ten years because this one may be very significant (in my book).  I have been looking for something unusual to occur with the sun in March.

http://www.spaceweather.com/archive.php?view=1&day=05&month=03&year=2013

*(The Farside.  Does anyone remember this wonderful, kooky comic series by Gary Larson??  I still miss it even though it was ended in 1995!!)

9 Responses to “Full Halo CME March 5, 2013”

  1. pollyann Says:

    Now I see what NASA stated about it:

    http://news.sky.com/story/1061377/curiosity-shut-down-as-solar-flare-heads-to-mars

    They put Curiosity to sleep to protect it from the solar radiation from this CME because they had a computer failure at another time and wanted to be cautious this time.

    I was getting it straight in my own mind as to what NASA actually stated. :-)

  2. Salty Says:

    I should have said that’s why they said it was shut down but it’s really working just fine

  3. Salty Says:

    Some are saying that NASA is up to something they don’t want anyone to know about and that’s why they shut it down.

  4. pollyann Says:

    I don’t know either but I think it may have been sabotage.

  5. Salty Says:

    I wonder if the Mars rover Curiosity was affected by the CME.

    Curiosity was put to sleep around I think it was March 1/13 .
    They said it was major computer problem, or a corrupted computer but maybe NASA knew about the CME beforehand? Then put it to sleep to protect it?
    Just thinking. I don’t know.

  6. pollyann Says:

    I was wondering which planet or planets were hit with this CME, and being too lazy to look at the time, I just found out Mars was the recipient.

  7. Salty Says:

    From Mail Online. March 8/13
    The calm before the solar storm? NASA warns ‘something unexpected is happening to the Sun’
    ‘Something unexpected’ is happening on the Sun, Nasa has warned.

    This year was supposed to be the year of ‘solar maximum,’ the peak of the 11-year sunspot cycle.

    But as this image reveals, solar activity is relatively low.

    Scroll down for video.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2290289/NASA-warns-unexpected-happening-Sun-year-supposed-peak-sunspot-cycle.html

  8. pollyann Says:

    Thanks, Salty!!
    Here’s a video from SolarWatcher showing the CME:
    (http://youtu.be/f2n7IkVrPAA)

  9. Salty Says:

    Hi Polly,
    I remembered seeing a few videos around having to do with something happening on March 22/13.
    I haven’t watched any of these YT videos but I thought there might be something of interest to you.
    There might be more than these ones but here is what I found.

    http://tiny.cc/y7mltw


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

