The Hippie Movement


More than a few weeks ago I happened to hear a show on the History Channel about the hippie movement back in the 60′s and 70′s.  That was a really intense show for me; I felt very emotional as I listened because it brought back so many memories.  There is something I did not know, it has never occurred to me, and I’ve been thinking about it on and off ever since.  The narrator stated (paraphrase) that COINTELPRO agents were sent in to infiltrate the movement, cause mayhem, discredit people and to break it up.

The same has happened to the truth movement of today.

3 Responses to “The Hippie Movement”

  1. pollyann Says:

    The hippie movement had a lot of collective raw power (I remember) and was very active politically (I wasn’t) which pissed the older generation off big time because they could see what might have occurred unless the movement was squashed. Perhaps the beatniks were a precursor.

    Khris, that is a wonderful holiday gift!! Hugs!!

  2. Sparkel Says:

    Before the “The Hippie Movement” there were Beatniks – the “Beat Generation”. Link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beatnik
    I hardly remember anything about Beatniks except that it was considered really :cool: cool to “Go Beat”
    I suspect that same thing (COINTELPRO) happened with the Beatnik Movement too, and with whatever was the ‘in thing’ to do back through history.

  3. clandestine rage revealed Says:

    Both are dead. I have a large sack of U.S.D.A certified organic hope for you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

